Posted by: 1craftyboy | December 27, 2007

Tunisian Short Row Dishcloth

Okay,I’ve been making these dishcloths for years now. It’s my go-to pattern when I don’t have anything else I want to work on. Since I have really enjoyed making these for so long,I guess it’s time to share the pattern. So here we go!!

You going to need:
1 skein of dishcloth cotton-variegated preferred
size “J” afghan hook
yarn needle

*Note: all return rows are done as follow: Yo,pull through 1 loop on hook. **Yo,pull through two loops on hook. Rep from ** to end.

Chain 15.

First Wedge

Row 1: Pull up a loop in 2nd chain from hook. (2 loops on hook). Work return as shown in notes.

Row 2: Pull up a loop in next vertical bar. Pull up a loop in next chain st. (3 loops on hook). Work return row.

Row 3: pull up a loop in each of next 2 vertical bars. Pull up a loop in next chain st. (4 loops on hook). Work return row.

Row 4: Pull up a loop in each of next 3 vertical bars. Pull up a loop in next chain st. % loops on hook. Work return row.

Continue as established,pulling up a loop in next empty chain st after all vertical bars have been worked until you have worked all the chain sts and you have 15 loops on the hook. Work a return row. (1 loop remaining on hook.)

Wedges 2-6

Work as far Wedge 1,but using vertical bars on previous wedge instead of chain stitches.

After the sixth wedge has been worked off,slip stitch in each vertical bar across. Break yarn and thread yarn needle. With right sides facing,sew or whip stitch edges together. Using tail from original chain,sew center hole closed. Attach yarn to any stitch on outer edge and work 1 round of single crochet around entire edge. (That part is optional). Weave in ends and call it a day!

I hope you enjoy making these as much as I have!!! Feel free to email me if you  have any questions!!!

crafty-boy@hotmail.com


Responses

  1. Thank you so much for sharing this! I’ll be trying it with my next dishcloth 🙂

  2. I’ve never done tunisian crochet before and wanted an easy pattern. This is it! I’m on wedge 2 already 😀

    Thank you.


Leave a comment

Categories