Posted by: 1craftyboy | December 26, 2007

Whole lotta stuff

First off,I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas! Here at the Gibbons household,we were quite busy! Food had to be cooked and crafts had to be finished and wrapped. Thankfully,I only had to do the finishing and wrapping! I was able to get Dad’s Notre dame blanket done in time,and it was a hit! This isn’t the best shot of it,but I didn’t want to put it on the floor as I usually do for pics,so I stuck it on my bed instead.

I think it turned out pretty nice. It took me a week and my wrists were a little sore,but it was worth it. Dad came over to Mom’s house for breakfast Christmas morning and that’s when the three of us exchanged gifts. Dad got the blanket,and I gave Mom a coffee muf with a picture of her cocker spaniel on it. She was on cloud 9 with that! I was given 3 shirts,a pair of jeans,a printer for my computer (YAY!!),and a $50 gift card to Wal-Mart. My Aunt Cra gave me a $25 Wal-Mart card and a bag of snack food,and my cousin Anita gave me a shower radio. The last two people I saw Christmas Eve,btw. Then we went to bro’s house. I gave Justin his Camo afghan that I made him. Ethan got a Black Sabbath tee. Matthew got a book on how to draw Manga. Cecilia and sarah both got Build-A-Bear gift cards. Bro and SIL gave me a $30 Barnes and Noble card.

BTW,here are my bro’s kids…

Clockwise from the far left is Ethan (16),Matthew (15),Justin (17),Cecilia,and Sarah (both 14). Sarah is my bro’s step daughter. The rest are his blood kids.

We stayed at their house for dinner which was really nice. I’m usually grasping at straws during family meals,being the only vegetarian,but this time there were a lot of veggies! Very happy was I!

Okay,during the past three days,I didn’t want to work on anything large,since i was recuping from the afghan,so I did some dish clothes instead. I actually churned four!! The first pic is of my latest BallBand Dishcloth from “Mason-Dixon Knitting”.

I used 1 skein of Peaches N Cream Cotton in black and 1 skein in Pink Lemonade. I absolutely love the way it came out!!! This one I did today. The Ballband is my fave knitted cloth right now,and the book was worth buying just for this pattern alone!!!

I also found another pattern for cloths,but it’s crocheted.  It’s called the Crazy Cloth,and the pattern can be found at

http://cityofcrochet.blogspot.com/2006/10/crazy-cloth.html

It took me a coupla tries to figure it out. I recommend reading the entire pattern first,then start crocheting. I made these ones in the past two days…

My favorite things about this pattern are the ring on top,and the fact that once you get going,they really work up fast! The oroginal pattern calls for yarn that I’m unfamiliar with. I used basic dishcloth cotton and a “G” hook. I stopped at 14 rows past the ring.

Well that’s it for now. I have to run cuz I’m fixing dinner tonite. We’re having lentil soup. Lentils are my number one beantype thing,and I’m craving them big time right now. So have a great night,and I’ll be back later!!

Responses

  1. Hi,
    Loved your crochted dishcloths but when I tried to get the pattern at the website it said no such site or couldn’t find! Would love to have the pattern!
    Your work is beautiful and looks so professional
    have a great day!!!!!!!!!!!
    Barb.

  2. The dishcloths are all beautiful! I especially love the ballband one! I wish I knew how to knit so I could make one!

  3. I remember seeing the pattern for this in a old SAnnie’s Attic catalog. It too was in thread. It was for a kit. I remember thinking that it cost too much for just a dishcloth, so I sat down and figured it out myself.


Leave a Reply

Categories

