Posted by: 1craftyboy | November 19, 2007

The cabled hat

Well,I was able to finish off the cabled hat that I had on my loom last night. It turned out pretty nice,dontcha think?

The cables are little clearer in this picture now that the hat is off the loom,but the color of the yarn still makes it a little difficult to photograph well. The things I learned making this hat will all be added to my repetoire. These are: chain cast on,the way it was knit and purled (Ihad ever only done e-wraps),the cabling (I still need to work on my tension for the next one),and the decreasing. This hat is destined to go to a children’s shelter here in Columbia,as are some other hats I’ll soon be working on. That’s my chosen charity work for the season.

Presently I am also loom knitting a pair of slippers from Meilynne’s pattern on Yarngear dot com. I’ve made several of these before,and I love using the pattern. This pair is for me,but I will also make more to send off to the Ships Project,which takes slippers and hats and sends them off to sailors on ships in the Persian Gulf. I’ll take a picture soon.

So that’s that. Still working on the Round Ripple,as well,but my CTS has really been acting up lately,so loom knitting is the only painless fiber activity that I can  do right now.

Hope you all have a great week,and I’ll be back later!! Peace and love!!!!

Responses

  1. Your hat turned out great! I like the chain cast on and the garter stitch too. The cable stitch is something I have yet to learn. Your cables turned out very nice.


Leave a Reply

Categories

