Posted by: 1craftyboy | October 30, 2007

Christine’s Dishcloth

I’m calling this Christine’s Dishcloth coz she’s the one that turned me onto this stitch. It’s really quick and easy,and the texture of the stitch gives a really good scrub. I’ll be honest here and admit to the fact that I use these as wascloths as much as dishcloths. They can also be used as hotpads!

You’re gonna need a skein of Sugar and Cream or Peaches and Cream Cotton. I like to use variegated yarns for color,but go with what you like. You also need a size “H” hook.

Gauge=16 sts and 14 rows per 4 inches in pattern.

Chain 23 sts.

Row 1: In second ch from hook work (1 sc and 2 dc),*sk 2 sts,work (1 sc and 2 dc) in next st. Rep from * until 3 sts rem. Skip 2 and work 1 sc in last chain st.

Row 2: Chain 1,turn. In first sc work (1 sc and 2 dc).  *Skip 2 sts and work (1 sc and 2 dc) in next st. Rep from * to the last 3 sts. Skip 2 sts and work 1 sc in last st.

Repeat row 2 until 20 rows total are completed. Break yarn and weave in ends.

Responses

  1. Yay! I’m famous now!
    LoL Looks great dude, glad you like the stitch. Now you know why I’ve been using it so much 🙂

  2. I enjoyed making this pattern. I plan to keep this handy to use when I need a portable project.

  3. that is so funny!
    it’s a basic shell stitch!!! very nicely done…
    i love this stitch cuz it is fast and turns out so beautifullY!


Leave a Reply

Categories

